The Most Banal Questions about Gluten and Grains - buckwheat has gluten
.st0.st2.Even with the growing popularity of the gluten-free diet, many people continue to have questions about gluten and gluten grains.This isn't surprising since even the essential facts about gluten and the grains in which it's contained can be pretty confusing. Also, there's a distinctive amount of misinformation out there, which only adds to the confusion.Therefore, it's not surprising that many people can't really define gluten, even if they're following the gluten-free.Here are the seven most banal questions I see on gluten and gluten grains, plus quick answers (and links to more information):.
How to Use Buckwheat in Gluten - buckwheat has gluten
Buckwheat is the seed of a plant called "Fagopyrum It's related to rhubarb, not wheat, rye or barley and despite the confusing name, buckwheat is gluten-free.Buckwheat is thought to have originated in China but it most often appears in recipes from Russia, France, and Japan for pancakes, blinis, crêpes, and soba noodles.Other than being used in pancake mixes, buckwheat isn't much of a mainstay in recipes in the US. That's too bad because this unique GF food tastes great and can really boost the nutritional value of gluten-free recipes.
Quinoa and Beyond: 10 Gluten - buckwheat has gluten
I remember the first time I cooked quinoa. It was back in the 90s when Deborah Madison’s “Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone” first came out and I was intrigued by her quinoa with pine nuts and dried fruits recipe. It took some doing, but I finally tracked down a few handfuls of quinoa in the bulk foods division of my local health food store. Fast forward to today, and quinoa is far from obscure. I can choose from three kinds of quinoa at Trader Joe’s — it is even on the menu of chain restaurants. I can’t remember the last time someone asked me about quin-oh-ah, causing me to struggle with whether I should correct their pronunciation or not.